+3 to Charisma Skirt

28 Sep

I present my Level 11 Skirt of Cunning, +3 to charisma!

If you are not a dork, you will probably not get that. And if you are not a dork, you will probably look at this skirt the way many people did earlier- with one eyebrow raised, head tilted, mouth contorted in a confused grimace.

“What is on your skirt?”

“Dice.”

The person will either say something like, “Oh yeah,” and continue on their way, or ask what kind of dice have that many sides. When I explain that the dice are from the game of Dungeons & Dragons, several responses might be heard: “Awesome!” “You’re funny.” “Oh.” Or the person might just look at me like I have two heads.

I suppose this was all inevitable when I decided that I should wear my new skirt to work at the library during the day, before heading off to battle a succubus, an ogre and bar thugs at night.

This skirt took a long time. Many movies featuring embroidering heroines were watched, to encourage me on my progress. Despite my slight contempt for the boring six-sided die, I think my dragon-embellished version is my favourite. I do actually have a few dice like this one in my D&D bag, and they have caused some arguments:

“12 damage!”

“No, the dragon represents a 1. So you do 2 damage.”

“What?! How can a dragon represent the lowest number on the dice? Dragons are awesome!”

You can probably tell by now that my friends and I have very serious, philosophical discussions.

(Mrs. A)

Leave a Reply

