Snitch Skirt

16 Jul

If Harry Potter took place in 1950s America, students at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry would probably wear something like this on their Butterbeer dates in Hogsmead. At least, I like to think so.

I knew I needed to wear something good to commemorate the very last Harry Potter movie, but a black cloak and house tie just wasn’t going to cut it. So I made yet another circle skirt, this time embellished with a giant golden snitch! I honestly don’t think I’m going to get bored of these circle skirts. They are way too easy, and there are so many ways to embellish them. Just you wait until I finish my Dungeons and Dragons themed green-beaded dice skirt!

People loved this skirt, and even the people who have been living under a rock and don’t know what a snitch is still thought it was “retro cool” (in the words of one crazy old guy at the library). Oh, and if you can’t quite see it, I was sporting a Slytherin badge and a Dark Mark, to show my love for dear Severus Snape. Love him.

And here is my shoddy Microsoft Paint template. One of these days I’m going to remember to actually make a real template before I sew everything together. But you get the idea.

(Mrs. A)

2 Responses to “Snitch Skirt”

  1. ModCloth Coupon July 16, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Your snitch skirt is very beautiful, I also love the Harry Potter movie, The story is very appealing to me. The skirt style looks like the vintage style.

  2. Creepy Clothier July 21, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Love love love it. So awesome/creative. I don’t know about you but Snape first line in HP:DH PII was so droll, I burst into a fit of school girl giggles. Glad we share a love.

Leave a Reply

