Popped my dressmaking cherry!

6 Feb

I was so nervous about my first time! There was so much to think about- the darts, the pleats, a proper fit. I thought for sure I would do something wrong. But I knew it had to happen sometime. I needed to make my first dress.

Dressmaking is one of the reasons I wanted a sewing machine in the first place. Once and a while I come across a dress in-store or online that I LOVE. And less often than that can I actually afford it. I have very specific tastes, so I don’t like spending my money on something that I just like. I figured if we got ourselves a sewing machine, I could make dresses that were 100% ME.

Unfortunately, making a dress is quite difficult, especially when you are trying to fit it to yourself. I bought a pattern labeled “easy,” thinking it would make a good first dress. Most of the sewing went very well, but when I went to try it on, it was about 4 inches too big in the bust! So I had to do a little on-the-fly alterations, resewing the zipper in the process. In total though, with the resewing and the seam ripping (I sewed the wrong sides together at one point), this dress took me about 6 hours to make. Then it came time for embellishments. I was going to put buttons down the front, but decided to do some embroidery. The buttons on the straps have a royal looking crest on them, so I went for an Old English style initial. That took me two rolls of embroidery thread and about 2 hours.

So my first time wasn’t as perfect as I had hoped, but it certainly wasn’t scary. I think I’m ready to move on to more complicated patterns, once I figure out how to measure myself properly…

(Mrs. A)

One Response to “Popped my dressmaking cherry!”

  1. mb February 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    keep at it! It gets easier after each attempt!

Leave a Reply

