Steampunk Mona Lisa

28 Jan

I get into moods (just ask my husband). Right now, I am in the kind of mood that makes me pine for a world of airships, journeys to the center of the earth and time machines.

Maybe four months ago, the Dollarama was selling grey scale canvases of popular works of art. I immediately snatched up the Mona Lisa, Van Gogh’s Sunflowers, and Monet’s abysmally overused Water Lilies. The latter two are still sitting in my library/office/art room, and probably will be for a while. But who can resist $2 canvases? I knew that I was going to do something to poor Lisa, but I hadn’t decided what.

Then, of course, genius struck and I have my very own steampunk Mona Lisa! I’m sure Da Vinci would appreciate her snappy goggles and the flying machine in the background, so I have no qualms about “ruining” a masterpiece. Plus, I think that it is much more tasteful than this.

PS: This piece was done with Prismacolor Nupastels (my favourite thing to draw with ever).

(Mrs. A)

3 Responses to “Steampunk Mona Lisa”

  1. Chrees January 31, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    I love this!! Great to see a modern take on classical painting 😀

    • mrsartsmrcrafts February 3, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks! I’m always tempted to buy cheap prints of paintings and alter them slightly…so when I saw the canvas that said “Create Your Own Masterpiece” (for only 2 bucks, no less), I couldn’t resist. Value Village is great for paintings too- I saw a classic Virgin Mary painting, but it was $15, so I kind of put off buying it. And when I went back, it was gone. 😦 No Steampunk Virgin Mary for me…it would have been awesome to give her a clockwork halo.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vincent Van Groovy « Mrs. Arts & Mr. Crafts - October 8, 2011

    […] Oct Another Dollarama canvas has been transformed! Like the canvas from my earlier Mona Lisa makeover, this one had a black and white, paint-by-numbers-esque line drawing of Van Gogh’s famous […]

Leave a Reply

