Post-Holiday Recap

11 Jan

Whether you celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, Holiday or Festivus, I’m sure many presents were exchanged, much sugar was consumed, and tackiness abounded. At least, that’s how it is in my world! I got out my ugly Christmas dress from last year and sewed sewed sewed! I made this new dress:

A definite improvement on my first dress, but I still think I look like a tree skirt.

I also made some felt house hoops inspired by the artistic genius of Checkout Girl (pictures to come!) and a nerdy hoop for my Star Trek-loving lady friend:

My brother got the pink bunny pajamas from A Christmas Story. You know, the one where the kid shoots his eye out?

"You only need to wear them when Aunt Clara comes to visit!"

And for Mr. C, I did something a little different! Instead of sewing, I painted. I ordered a set of blank Russian nesting dolls, or “matryoshkas,” from this site and painted them like Serenity and her crew from Firefly! He was stunned. At first, he thought I bought them already painted like that, but when I told him otherwise, his jaw dropped.

Firefly Russian Dolls

My favourite is little Jayne.

However, Mr. C had to one-up me by hand sewing me a bouquet of Mario flowers. Most guys just buy them from the florist. And most bouquets don’t have piranha plants!

The work that went into these is unreal. I think Mr. C will have to post a tutorial, because he made the patterns all on his own! I just love them. They are in a place of pride above our Wii.

Here’s hoping everyone had a magical holiday (even though it probably wasn’t as awesome as ours).

(Mrs. A)

One Response to “Post-Holiday Recap”

  1. tamara January 11, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    House Hoops! I’ve been eyeing/drooling over the tutorials over at Checkout girl’s blog (ever since you initially mentioned her blog). Very excited to see further pictures! And those Russian/Firefly dolls = sheer awesome. Mrs. A, are you my dream realized? Yes, yes you are! Keep crafting’ Exclamation Point.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

